…because the hit happens

“Part of humility means trusting God with our plans and submitting to the possibility that they will not be fulfilled. We pursue certain ends, but we can’t know the future. But part of humility also means trusting God with our plans and submitting to the possibility that they will be fulfilled in ways we cannot imagine.” – Hannah Anderson in Humble Roots

16487141_1857247957887990_3347807496626222542_o

I like to think that I am a care-free, go with the flow person. I used to think I was like that. But. If you get to know me, you quickly learn that’s not the case. I am a planner. Despite my desire to not be a planner, I am a planner.

My desire to not be one is the fear that my plans will fail. My plans will not come to pass. My hopes and dreams will not happen and my pride will be crushed. If I come across as a care-free, take life as it comes person, perhaps it’d be easier to take the hit when the hit happens.

Because the hit happens.

Maybe you planned to go to a certain university, and it didn’t happen. Maybe you planned to live in a different city or land a different job. Maybe your plans were to be married. Have kids. Have many kids. Maybe your plan was to just wake up and have a day where you could accomplish everything on your to do list…but you didn’t get that last thing done. You never get that last thing done.

Because the hit happens.

Our plans may be fulfilled when we want them to. They may be fulfilled, but in a different way. They may never be fulfilled as we had hoped. But, oh our hope. Our hope is not in what WE do. Our hope is in what Christ has done. I know that sounds cheesy and cliche, but friend (self), that is where our hope lives and breathes and flourishes. That is where our hope is found.

“My hope is built on nothing less
Than Jesus’ blood and righteousness;
I dare not trust the sweetest frame,
But wholly lean on Jesus’ name.
On Christ, the solid Rock, I stand;
All other ground is sinking sand.”

May we place our hope in the truth that we have been redeemed through Christ. Let’s strip ourselves of the false hope that we put in what we can accomplish and how we can accomplish it. Let’s humble ourselves and place our hope in what is solid. When our plans do happen, we can praise God for it and when they do not, we can trust and praise God for what is to come.

*Note. I write this to remind me and encourage me. I know this hard to do. Let’s be real. It is hard to do…but let’s aim to do it…let’s aim to trust less in ourselves and more in Him for He holds all things together.

Leave a Reply

