summer always calls for sno-cones.

A friend of mine is hosting a challenge this summer.

A challenge to stay in shape, eat “clean”, and basically do your body good.

{If only this was what she was asking us to do}

I was instantly drawn to the challenge because it didn’t seem IMPOSSIBLE for me to do.

Last year prior to being pregnant I decided to do Whole30 and had all intentions to switch over to Paleo. While Mark & I both stuck with Whole30 for the entire month, we decided that Paleo wasn’t the thing for our family. The main reasons were that gluten did not affect us, our grocery bill went THROUGH the roof because of having to buy more meat, & to be honest…good beer and good cheese were just too good to say goodbye to. Doing Whole30 did, however, encourage me to be more mindful of what I am putting in my body. It certainly got me excited about eating more produce and greatly lessened our grain/pasta/bread intake.

Anyhow, when Roxanne introduce the No-Cheat Challenge I thought to myself, why not!?

So far, it’s been going great! This week, in addition to staying away from processed junk and eating clean, they challenged us to

a. Not eat after 8 pm

&

b. Come up with a clean eating item of one of your fave snacks

Which brings us to…sno-cones.

Summer truly calls for sno-cones. I would have at least 3 a day if I could…and I would put a scoop of ice cream in each of them. Peach & Mango are the favorites and you can never go wrong with the classic Strawberry.

Only one problem – I am guessing the syrup they use at my favorite sno-cone joints aren’t exactly “clean”. If you’re like me and love yourself some flavored ice on a hot summer day here’s a  recipe for all-natural strawberry sno-cone syrup.

IMG_2089

-Ingredients-

2 cups sliced strawberries

1/2 cup water

2 Tablespoons Agave in the Raw

-What to Do-

1. Put all 3 ingredients in a small saucepan and set over medium heat for about 20 minutes, stirring occasionally. The strawberries should get soft and pretty mushy.

2. Turn off heat and let sit for another 10-15 minutes to let the flavor soak in more (side note – the only reason I did this is because E was hungry and I had to feed her).

3. Put the mixture through a fine mesh sieve/strainer and put in fridge to chill for at least a few hours.

4. Go to your favorite sno-cone joint to get the best ice ever and pour your syrup on top…or use a food processor or a blender to crush up your own ice!

5. Enjoy and reminisce about summer days eating sno-cones by the pool. At least that’s what I do 🙂

In the picture above I blended my own ice, but tomorrow I plan on going to get the ice made from the machines. They may give me funny looks when I ask for a sno-cone with no syrup, but it’ll certainly be worth it.

What yummy treats are you always a big fan of during the summer time? Do you have a “clean” way of eating it? 

One thought on “summer always calls for sno-cones.

Leave a Reply

