Herringbone DIY

Last week, I mentioned that I was on a mission to make this home more homey. One of my first tasks was to get something other than dog toys on our mantle.

I found this to be quite difficult as our mantle has a huge window directly behind it. I love the extra light the window puts in our home, but I really wish it wasn’t there. After weeks of contemplating what to do with the space I finally decided to make a little something after being inspired by pinterest.

Since last year I have seen multiple DIY’s on painting a herringbone print on a canvas….such as this one.

I decided to make my own twist on this simple DIY with wood rather than canvas.

The first step was to make a quick cut with a big piece of wood we had leftover from one of the husband’s previous projects.

IMG_1818

Next I used a stain to liven this thing up.

IMG_1828

Then, during a couple of Elli’s nap times I used Frog Tape to make a herringbone pattern on the wood. I didn’t have any particular method to doing this…I liked the idea of it not being all the same, so I made the lengths of the tape vary piece to piece. Simply start in one corner and keep going till the end.

IMG_1854

{This is when I was introduced to the A Beautiful Mess photo app}

Once all the tape was in place, I took a roller brush and some white paint and rolled over the tape. About 10 minutes after painting I took the paint off and ended up with this lovely thing…

IMG_1860

I then quickly painted the edges of the piece white, and put it up on our mantle along with some other items laying around the house.

IMG_1887

What do you think? It’s certainly better than dog toys and dog food.

{the canister on the far left has dog treats in it…shhh…don’t tell}

__________

Have you done any Pinterest inspired projects lately?

Or perhaps you are more creative than myself and found inspiration elsewhere 🙂

4 thoughts on “Herringbone DIY

  1. anselmsattitude says:

    I love that! Wood was a good choice–it adds rich texture.

    And I really like the window over the mantle 🙂 The wall on top of our mantle stretches too high. All of my ideas for filling the space thus far are too expensive or too time consuming :/ wah, wah.

Leave a Reply

