Scone Goodness

This last weekend my mom handed over to me all of my grandma’s many, many recipes from her bakery.

On the car ride home from Caldwell I looked through all of the scraps of paper that had her notes scribbled on them. Reminders to pick up our dog from the airport, missed phone calls she needed to return, and thoughts on various recipes. The paper was obviously a bit old and some had hardened dough caked on it in places, coffee stains, and buttery fingerprints all over.

IMG_1770

Reading through the many recipes made me wish so badly that my grandma could be here in person to show me how to bake kolaches or her infamous hot rolls to perfection. Alas, these old notes of hers will have to do. I am so thankful she left those behind for us to have.

Looking through them gave me the sudden urge to bake. Soon I will be tackling some of my grandma’s recipes, but recently I have made homemade Oatmeal Wheat Bread, Dinner Rolls, and Lemon-Cranberry Scones.

The Felders certainly do not eat Paleo.

If you don’t eat Paleo you will love these flaky, melt in your mouth buttery Lemon-Cranberry Scones. I am a big fan of the simplicity of baking them. It doesn’t require much time and is the perfect treat to make while baby girl is napping 🙂

IMG_1768

Lemon – Cranberry Scones

{adapted from familymeals cookbook}

-Ingredients-

2 cups all-purpose flour

2 tablespoons sugar

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon grated lemon zest

1/2 cup cold, unsalted butter (cut into cubes)

1/2 cup dried cranberries

1 cup heavy cream

-Directions-

Preheat oven to 450 degrees and oil a large baking sheet (or use parchment paper). Pam or butter work great.

Stir together the flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, and lemon zest in a large bowl.

Add the cold, cubed butter and “cut up” the mixture using a pastry cutter or 2 knives. I prefer a pastry cutter. You’ll want to do this until the butter is the size of “large peas.”

Add in the dried cranberries and cream. Stir just until the dough comes all together. It will still be quite flaky.

Gather up the dough and place it on a lightly floured surface. Knead just a bit and then pat the dough out into a circle that is roughly 1 1/2 inches thick.

Cut the dough into triangles, much like you would a pizza, and place them on the prepared baking sheet. I cut mine into 8.

Brush the tops of the scones with some cream and sprinkle with a bit of sugar to make it extra delicious and place it in the oven for about 14 minutes. Let cool a bit on a rack and enjoy warm with a nice cup of coffee or tea (if you’d like)!

And for all you Paleo-folk out there like my sister…you’d like these too 😉

5 thoughts on “Scone Goodness

  1. shellakers says:

    This looks delicious! I’ll have to give it a whirl.

    Your grandmas recipes are such a treasure! Recently, I found some from my grandma dating back to WWII, before my dad was even born. Wow.

      • shellakers says:

        HAHA! There were a lot of interesting recipes in that book. Some of the ingredients are strange though because I think during WWII there was a shortage of food and a limit that you could buy. Ingredients were hard to come by, sometimes. That what they tell me, anyway. The history is what’s cool to me.

  2. tribalancegirl says:

    I’ll have to try this out. You have me convinced. Especially since they seem quick, easy, delicious, and a special treat. While I was home, I went through my mom’s recipe book and my grandmother’s old recipes. Aren’t they so much fun?

Leave a Reply

